Above Header

U-Pack Moving Review | Flex Moving

U-Pack Moving ReviewYes, this is a U-Pack Moving review.  My readers are probably wondering why I am doing a company review about a company that has nothing to do with internet marketing.  Well, the truth is, U-Pack engages in internet marketing quite effectively, and I think as internet marketers, we might learn something from their policy of “flex moving.”

You see, while I am immersed in the world of internet marketing, I’ve had cause lately to deal with quite a few “brick and mortar” businesses, and I think it’s been a bit of an education for me from a perspective I don’t usually have.

So I thought I’d bring a bit of that education over to my internet marketing blog.

It started when my wife, Donna, and I decided to move.  We put our house up for sale and I instantly became a bit of a fish out of water, dealing with the world outside of the internet.

Who Is U-Pack Moving?

U-Pack moving is simply a moving company.  But I have found it to be pretty unique in the world of moving because of it’s flex moving concept.

This very short video should give you a taste of what I’m talking about.

So here’s let’s review 3 of the basic “flex” principles I talked about.

Flexible Price Quote

First U-Pack uses the homepage of its website (upack dot com) to offer a price quote.  Nothing unusual about that.  What is unusual though is that its price quotes are truly instant.  Enter your specs and your quote is there.  Most companies call “instant quote” a whole song and a dance about leaving your email and phone number and a rep will get a hold of you to discuss.  I don’t call that instant.

But even more, pricing is truly flexible.  You choose how big a container you need.  You choose if you need a container or an entire trailer.  You choose if you want storage or not, moving labor or not, and on and on.  You really control the pricing far more than with any other company I could find.

Flexible Sizing

You also have the option to choose a flexible size for your move.  You can decide how many containers you want delivered for your move or, you can do something super flexible as I did.

I had a 28 foot trailer delivered to me.  My contract price was based on my using 16 feet of the trailer.  But here’s the really cool part.  If I need 18 or 22 or even all 28 feet once I get going, all I have to do is pay more.  I’m not restricted to just the 16 feet I contracted for.  If I use only 14 feet, or 12 or 10… I pay less!

Flexible Contract

This was actually the most impressive part of the whole flex concept to me.

My contract specifies that I have 3 days to load the trailer, then a driver will come to pick it up and take it to my destination.  But I got totally thrown off course when my closing was delayed once, twice and… well, I’m still waiting for a firm date!

When I called U-Pack to explain my predicament, I expected that, like any other company, they’d say, well, too bad.  By contract, we’ll be charging you an additional $50 per day that you hold the trailer beyond the 3 days.

But they didn’t.

They said that even though the contract specifies those additional charges, “don’t worry… take the time you need and don’t worry about those charges.”

Wow… that’s flexible.

Lessons For Internet Marketers

U-Pack Moving does use the internet for marketing.  And they use it very well.  But that’s not what I want I want to teach you about here.

I want you to think of the flex concept.

We all know that as internet marketers, we don’t sell products, we build relationships.

How can your online business build stronger relationships by introducing flexibility into your business model?

If your return policy is 30 days, do you think it would be smart to give a customer a refund after 40 days?

If you offer training that promises to teach your client 5 specific things, do you think it would be a good idea to teach some different or additional things tailored to a specific client’s unique requirements?

If your regular consultation fee is $1,000 up front, do you think you could permit the payments to be broken up over time, or even reduced for clients who had also purchased your $497 video course?

Think It Over

Consider how being flexible in your business will greatly enhance your personal brand in the eyes of your customers, and how it will help you build relationships with your clients far more effectively than just updating your Facebook status three times a day.

As for U-Pack Moving, I’ll be updating you on their follow through once my move is complete.

Meanwhile, I’ll be reviewing some other brick and mortar businesses over my next few posts.  Your learn a lot by staying focused on your online business, of course.  But for the time being, I’ve been learning a lot even though I’ve been distracted with a cumbersome and complex move.  Thank you U-Pack Moving.

Please share this article on your social sites as usual.  I’m sure many of your friends and followers would be interested in it.  And, of course, I’d love to hear what you think of the flex concept I learned from U-Pack.

David Merrill 101
I'm an Internet Marketer and Online Marketing Coach. My students learn no-nonsense, power strategies and techniques to build solid blogging and internet businesses. David Merrill+

,

13 Responses to U-Pack Moving Review | Flex Moving

  1. Silviu August 17, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    Hi David,

    Good article. Inspiring, too. We must keep a fresh eye to all aspects of life and how they can relate to the marketing world. Also, we should wear the marketer’s hat all the time, even when on holiday.

    The concept of flexibility is powerful. I agree with it 100% or more.
    Instant and flexible response to a potential customer? Absolutely yes.

    Even more. I understand that you need to be flexible during all the stages of the business: from a potential deal to a refund.

    A refund after the guarantee period? Yes. It will always have positive consequence.

    Over delivery? Difficult but very important. It may bring you clients for life so it deserves a supplementary amount of work.

    I must say that this blog looks more like a business school where you can learn what, when and how to do business. I like that.

    Thank you for this initiative. I think this article is better than all the rest.

    Have a nice day
    Silviu´s last blog post ..Viral Content Contest Case Study 1

    • David Merrill 101 August 18, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Thanks for your thoughtful comments, Silviu.

      I agree that we can learn online marketing skills everywhere we look. Seeing what some successful companies like U-Pack are doing can teach us a lot if we are looking.

      Notice, I didn’t review U-Pack because I thought it was a cool, random company to review, I did it because I’ve been dealing with them personally doing my own stuff. Their flexibility made me a real happy customer, and you know what… I want my customers/clients to feel that way too.

  2. rachel lavern August 18, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Wow, I love U-Pack’s flexibility and wish that more companies operated in a similar manner. Flex moving–what a concept!

    I am flexible in my business, especially with people that I have already established a relationship with. I often compromise or settle on mutually agreeable solutions with clients as I believe that it is essential to my success to do so. I respect businesses that have worked out win-win outcomes for me and I want to present the same for my clients.
    rachel lavern´s last blog post ..4 Simple Steps to Optimize Your Blog Images

    • David Merrill 101 August 18, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      Flexibility will really wow your clients and customers, Rachel. There’s nothing that makes them know you care about more than when you bend your own rules to accommodate them.

      How do you feel when the refund clerk at a store says, “sorry, that’s our policy” as opposed to “well, it’s not our policy to do this, but, you’re a good customer so we’ll bend the rules a bit for you”.

      BIG difference. And guess which store you’ll keep going back to over and over again.

  3. Raena Lynn August 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Hi David,

    This is an excellent post! I enjoyed hearing about your moving experience and I know you and Donna has had some challenges, so it is nice that the moving company, U-Pack Moving, has helped ease some of the frustration of your situation. I think the fact that they didn’t charge you for changing the contract is awesome!

    I will definitely recommend this company to anyone who is planning a move. I see myself doing that in the near future, so I am grateful to read your review and watch your video. Great message!

    The concept of flexibility is important to me. Generally speaking, I’m a very flexible person and I carry it over to my business. Flexibility is a part of my business from beginning to end. Thanks David. I’m happy for the both of you and the comfort of completing the move is getting closer!

    Raena Lynn
    Raena Lynn´s last blog post ..Biz Blogging Buzz 8 Great Reasons To Join

    • David Merrill 101 August 18, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

      Flexibility is really powerful, Raena.

      As entrepreneurs, we spend a lot of time establishing guidelines, rules and policies to protect ourselves. And we need to.

      But that’s all about US.

      When you voluntarily suspend a rule or two, not because you have to, but because you want to… that business model is all about the YOU.

      When a customer/client is convinced you care about them, they’ll be with you forever, and will tell their friends about you too.

  4. Chery Schmidt August 18, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Hey David, I have never heard of U-Pack Moving, What an Awesome idea to use the internet and to be flexible about how to go about helping their clients.

    You did a great job incorporating an online business into this into your article.

    I believe we all need to learn to be flexible when it comes to building relationships online, Time differences for instance, have you ever set a clock to meet with someone? I have and mad a great connection to and I would do this again too..

    Thanks for sharing.. Chery 🙂
    Chery Schmidt´s last blog post ..Time to Get To Know Me “Chery Schmidt”

    • David Merrill 101 August 18, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

      Good example of flex marketing, Chery!

      I have spoken with people at 2 and 3 a.m. because the connection was important to me. And they appreciated it incredibly because they understood that I was putting their needs above mine.

      Powerful marketing, far more so than building a list of 20,000 people who get fed nothing but daily affiliate links for random stuff.

  5. nick catricala August 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Hey David,
    Donna keep us on top of things as you went through the ordeal of moving.. BUT I was not aware of this U-pack moving stuff… here in Canada we have something else similar, but I must admit, I never look into it, I always called the movers and you know what?

    I was wrong for not looking into these type of moving companies because, especially with the last move that run into so many challenges, we would have been way ahead if we would use one of these companies (I just went online and searched to see what we have here and I found “Cube It Portable Storage” that do just what U-Pack is doing.. wonderful now I know what to use next time… no rush, n hurry and no dealing with the stress of having the movers at a certain time and rush to finish at a certain time.

    Your short video is excellent and you can tell you are truly happy with all what went on… and then reading all the detailed info you provided in the article, wow, they should pay you for doing a great advertising… you should send them the link and for sure they will appreciate and who knows, they may hire you in the future to do some internet marketing assignment.

    Thank you so much for elaborating on your move… I hope by now you are in your new place and start to unpack so you know where is your microphone haha 🙂

    Good luck with everything… and thanks again for your contribution for all of us to learn more…

    _nickc
    nick catricala´s last blog post ..What you do when you are in pain?

    • David Merrill 101 September 11, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      We’re finally set in, Nick.

      It wasn’t easy, but the whole U-Pack experience really was a big help. Like you said, just the fact that we didn’t have to be on a rushed time schedule with movers was great.

  6. Yorinda September 1, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Hi David,
    great overview of this company!

    It is always good to have a clear idea of what you are in for.

    The flexibility side is a great side of it.

    I like your comparising to Internet marketing.

    Wouldn’t it be nice if they gave a commission for anyone signing up because of your great recommendation!

    Moving can be stressful enough and a company like that seems to cater to the individuals requirements.

    Thank you for sharing.
    Yorinda
    Yorinda´s last blog post ..Music Stairway to Heaven

  7. Julieanne van Zyl September 6, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Hi David, I saw from Donna’s posts on Facebook, that you’re all moved in now, was a time consuming process wasn’t it. I remember when I moved 2,000 kms, it was challenging, especially in regard to the removal. We kept our things in storage in the original city, until we found a home in the new city. So, we moved into our new city, but the removalists were busy and couldn’t bring our furniture for 2 weeks. So, we bought new beds and used our esky for a fridge, and our laptops as Movie players. It was kind of fun for awhile, at least we got to rest before we unpacked.
    Julieanne van Zyl´s last blog post ..Landing Pages and Mobile Responsive for Advertising

  8. Dawn Golden January 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

    Hi David,

    Being flexible does seem to be a lost art with many businesses. What a great perspective and a nice reflection on how we can truly learn from others. Business people are all in the business of fulfilling the needs of their customers, be they online or brick and mortar. Thanks for the clever spin!
    Dawn Golden´s last blog post ..Successful People Do This

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy
error: Content is protected !!